Sutta Nipata
The Sutta Collection

The Sutta Nipata ("The Sutta Collection"), the fifth book of the Khuddaka Nikaya, consists of 71 short suttas divided into five vaggas (chapters).

A complete translation of the Sutta Nipāta, Sutta Nipāta: The Discourse Group, 2016, by Thanissaro Bhikkhu, is distributed free of charge by Metta Forest Monastery. It is also available to read online and in various ebook formats at

Another complete translation, which also includes the commentaries, is Bhikkhu Bodhi's The Suttanipata: an Ancient Collection of the Buddha’s Discourses Together with Its Commentaries (Boston: Wisdom Publications, 2017. Lastly, there is a complete translation by K.R. Norman, The Group of Discourses (2nd ed.) (Oxford: Pali Text Society, 2001).

Some of the passages listed below originally appeared in John Ireland's The Discourse Collection: Selected Texts from the Sutta Nipata, (BPS "Wheel" Publication No. 82).

The braces {} contain the corresponding verse numbers in the original Pali text, as listed in H. Saddhatissa's The Sutta-Nipata (London: Curzon Press, 1985).

1. Uragavagga — The Snake Chapter  

2. Culavagga — The Lesser Chapter  

3. Mahavagga — The Great Chapter  

4. Atthaka Vagga — The Octet Chapter    

See The Atthaka Vagga — The Octet Chapter: An Introduction, by Thanissaro Bhikkhu.

5. Parayanavagga — The Chapter on the Way to the Far Shore  

See The Parayanavagga — The Chapter on the Way to the Far Shore: An Introduction, by Thanissaro Bhikkhu.