Samyutta Nikaya
The Grouped Discourses

Quick links to the individual sections (vaggas) and chapters (samyuttas):

Sagatha Vagga:
Nidana Vagga:
Khandha Vagga:
Salayatana Vagga:
Maha Vagga:

The Samyutta Nikaya, the third division of the Sutta Pitaka, contains 2,889 suttas grouped into five sections (vaggas). Each vagga is further divided into samyuttas, each of which in turn contains a group of suttas on related topics. The samyuttas are named according to the topics of the suttas they contain. For example, the Kosala Samyutta (in the Sagatha Vagga) contains suttas concerning King Pasenadi of Kosala; the Vedana Samyutta (in the Salayatana Vagga) contains suttas concerning feeling (vedana); and so on.

For a complete translation, see Bhikkhu Bodhi's The Connected Discourses of the Buddha: A New Translation of the Samyutta Nikaya (Boston: Wisdom Publications, 2000; originally published in two volumes, but now available in a single volume).

A selected anthology of 370 suttas from the Samyutta Nikaya, Handful of Leaves, Volume Three, by Thanissaro Bhikkhu, is distributed free of charge by Metta Forest Monastery. It is also available to read online and in various ebook formats at

The suttas are numbered here by samyutta (chapter) and sutta, with the suttas numbered sequentially from the start of each samyutta, using as a guide the Rhys Davis & Woodward PTS English translations of the Samyutta Nikaya (The Book of the Kindred Sayings). The braces {} that follow each sutta and samyutta title contain the corresponding volume and starting page number, first in the PTS romanized Pali edition of the Samyutta Nikaya, then in Bhikkhu Bodhi's Connected Discourses of the Buddha ("CDB"). The translator appears in the square brackets [].

See also this handy table for converting between traditional (DPR, CSCD) and modern (ATI, CDB) samyutta numbering systems.

Sagatha Vagga — The Section of Verses  


1. Devata-samyutta — Devas  

2. Devaputta-samyutta — Sons of the Devas  

3. Kosala-samyutta — King Pasenadi of Kosala  

4. Mara-samyutta — Mara  

Stories of Mara's attempts to outwit the Buddha.

5. Bhikkhuni-samyutta — Nuns  

Stories of Mara's attempts to lure the nuns away from their meditation spots in the forest by asking them provocative questions. Without exception, these wise women conquer Mara decisively.

6. Brahma-samyutta — Brahma deities  

7. Brahmana-samyutta — Brahmans  

8. Vangisa-samyutta — Ven. Vangisa  

9. Vana-samyutta — The forest  

10. Yakkha-samyutta — Yakkha demons  

11. Sakka-samyutta — Sakka (the Deva king)  

Nidana Vagga — The Section on Causation  


12. Nidana-samyutta — Paticcasamuppada (dependent co-arising)  

13. Abhisamaya-samyutta — Realization  

14. Dhatu-samyutta — Elements  

15. Anamatagga-samyutta — The unimaginable beginnings of samsara  

16. Kassapa-samyutta — Ven. Maha Kassapa  

17. Labhasakkara-samyutta — Gains and tribute  

18. Rahula-samyutta — Ven. Rahula  

19. Lakkhana-samyutta — Ven. Lakkhana  

20. Opamma-samyutta — Comparisons  

21. Bhikkhu-samyutta — Monks  

Khandha Vagga — The Section on the Aggregates  


22. Khandha-samyutta — The clinging-aggregates  

23. Radha-samyutta — Ven. Radha  

24. Ditthi-samyutta — Views  

25. Okkanta-samyutta — Entering  

In this samyutta the Buddha explains the kinds of conviction and understanding that are required for the attainment of stream-entry. These short suttas share an identical structure, with each one focusing on a different aspect of experience (including the six senses, the six elements (dhatu), and the five aggregates). See also the Study Guides on stream-entry.

26. Uppada-samyutta — Arising  

27. Kilesa-samyutta — Defilements  

  • SN 27.1-10: Upakkilesa Samyutta — Defilements {S iii 232; CDB i 1012} [Thanissaro].
    These ten suttas explain why it is worth abandoning desire that is associated with: (1) the six sense bases; (2) their objects; (3) consciousness; (4) contact; (5) feeling; (6) perception; (7) intentions; (8) craving; (9) the six elements (earth, liquid, fire, wind, space, and consciousness); and (10) the five aggregates.

28. Sariputta-samyutta — Ven. Sariputta  

29. Naga-samyuttaNagas  

30. Supanna-samyuttaGarudas  

31. Gandhabbakaya-samyutta — Gandhabba devas  

32. Valahaka-samyutta — Rain-cloud devas  

33. Vacchagotta-samyutta — Ven. Vacchagotta  

34. Jhana-samyutta — Concentration  

Salayatana Vagga — The Section on the Six Sense Bases  


35. Salayatana-samyutta — The six senses  

36. Vedana-samyutta — Feeling  

37. Matugama-samyutta — Destinies of women  

  • SN 37.34: Vaddha Sutta — Growth {S iv 250; CDB ii 1293} [Thanissaro].
    This brief sutta, which encourages education for women, may account for the fact that in the pre-modern world Theravada Buddhist countries had the highest rates of female literacy. [TB]

38. Jambhukhadaka-samyutta — Jambhukhadaka the wanderer  

39. Samandaka-samyutta — Samandaka the wanderer  

40. Moggallana-samyutta — Ven. Moggallana  

41. Citta-samyutta — Citta the householder  

42. Gamani-samyutta — Village headmen  

43. Asankhata-samyutta — The unfashioned (Nibbana)  

44. Avyakata-samyutta — Undeclared  

See Thanissaro Bhikkhu's Introduction to this samyutta.

Maha Vagga — The Great Section  


45. Magga-samyutta — The Noble Eightfold Path  

46. Bojjhanga-samyutta — The Seven Factors for Awakening  

[See "The Seven Factors for Awakening" in The Wings to Awakening.]

47. Satipatthana-samyutta — The Four Frames of Reference (Foundations of Mindfulness)  

[See "The Four Frames of Reference" in The Wings to Awakening.]

48. Indriya-samyutta — The Five Mental Faculties  

[See "The Five Faculties" in The Wings to Awakening.]

49. Sammappadhana-samyutta — The Four Right Exertions  

[See "The Four Right Exertions" in The Wings to Awakening.]

50. Bala-samyutta — The Five Strengths  

[See "The Five Strengths" in The Wings to Awakening.]

51. Iddhipada-samyutta — The Four Bases of Power  

[See "The Four Bases of Power" in The Wings to Awakening.]

52. Anuruddha-samyutta — Ven. Anuruddha  

53. Jhana-samyutta — Jhana (mental absorption)  

54. Anapana-samyutta — Mindfulness of breathing  

55. Sotapatti-samyutta — Stream-entry  

56. Sacca-samyutta — The Four Noble Truths